Derby Winners

Derby winners will often go on to compete for the big international races later in the season, such as the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe in France and the Breeders’ Cup in the United States.

The Epsom Derby Fact File

The “Blue Riband” of the English turf. Three-year-old colts (fillies are eligible but rarely compete these days) stretch every sinew and nerve as they hurtle round Epsom’s switchback mile-and-a-half. This is a true test of stamina for young horses.

United Kingdom Classic Races

In United Kingdom horse racing, The Classics are a series of horse races run over the flat (i.e. without jumps). Each classic is run once each year and is restricted to horses that are three years old.

The five races are:

  • Two Thousand Guineas Stakes
  • One Thousand Guineas Stakes
  • Oaks Stakes
  • Epsom Derby Stakes
  • St. Leger Stakes

The 2,000 Guineas, the Derby and the St.Leger together form the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing.