Tattersalls’ Rules Betting

Bets on horseracing are historically governed by “Tattersalls’ Rules of Betting”, and form the basis of most bookmakers’ rules. Tattersalls’ Rules or an official announcement of Tattersalls’ Committee will govern the settlement of bets should a situation arise not covered by these rules, which are reproduced with the kind permission of the William Hill Organization. Although correct at time of writing, you are strongly advised to check the latest rules at William Hill’s website.


Ante Post prices are those offered on horse racing betting prior to the overnight declaration stage (usually 10.00am on the day before the race). Unless otherwise stated at the time of acceptance, ante-post bets are accepted on the basis of all-in run or not and all-in enter or not. Selections not taking part in the race/event concerned count as losers. Bets placed after the overnight declaration stage on selections which do not take part will be void and stakes will be returned.

If a race is postponed to another day and overnight declarations stand, then Ante Post bets stand. However, Single Ante Post bets on horse racing will be made void and any selection involved in accumulative bets will be treated as a non-runner if:

  • The race is abandoned.
  • The race is officially declared void.
  • The conditions of the race are altered after bets are made (as defined under Tattersalls’ Rules).
  • A horse is balloted out under Jockey Club Rules of Racing.
  • The venue is altered.

The running surface is altered (e.g. Turf to Dirt / All Weather or vice versa).

The Derby Fact File

The “Blue Riband” of the English turf. Three-year-old colts (fillies are eligible but rarely compete these days) stretch every sinew and nerve as they hurtle round Epsom’s switchback mile-and-a-half. This is a true test of stamina for young horses.

  • Group 1 flat horse race
  • 3-year-old colts and fillies
  • Run over a distance of 1 mile 4 furlongs and 10 yards (2,423 metres)
  • The Derby is one of the five United Kingdom Classic Races

United Kingdom Classic Races

In United Kingdom horse racing, The Classics are a series of horse races run over the flat (i.e. without jumps). Each classic is run once each year and is restricted to horses that are three years old.

The five races are:

  • Two Thousand Guineas Stakes
  • One Thousand Guineas Stakes
  • Oaks Stakes
  • Epsom Derby Stakes
  • St. Leger Stakes

The 2,000 Guineas, the Derby and the St.Leger together form the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing.